This amount plus tips must equal at least the State Minimum Wage Rate. Counsel Opinion Letters also address more specific situations.. I normally work (3) 12 hr. Child Labor Laws. In most states, private sector employers are not required to provide vacation, whether paid or unpaid, to employees. of Labor: Compensable Time Effective June 1, 2019, employees under 18 years of age must earn at least 85% of the State Minimum Wage Rate. Maryland Vacations federal, national and state compliance resources - regulations, laws, and state-specific analysis for employers and HR professionals Maryland Vacations: What you need to know In most states, private sector employers are not required to provide vacation, whether paid or unpaid, to employees. Read the code on FindLaw ... each employer shall pay an overtime wage of at least 1.5 times the usual hourly wage, ... unless a collective bargaining agreement between an employer and a labor organization provides otherwise, an employee of the employer … 2. The minimum wage schedule for Maryland is listed below. Under federal law and in most states, employers may pay tipped employees less than the minimum wage, as long as employees earn … Most employees must be paid the Maryland State Minimum Wage Rate. In every case, workers and employers are advised to contact the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, at 410-962-6211, to assure compliance under the federal law. Don’t forget to use the updated form I-9 for newly hired employees and review the updated i-9 handbook for employers. While they are restricted from most jobs, they may work in the entertainment industry with a special permit and may work as models, entertainers, and actors. Mass Layoffs (WARN) Meals and Breaks. Maryland labor laws establish terms regarding wage payment, overtime, and other aspects of full-time employment. By: Shawe Rosenthal LLP. Certain employees, like executives and those under 16 or over 62 who work less than full time, are exempt from the minimum wage law. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) provides the framework for federal and state wage and hour law. Employers are responsible for properly classifying employees as either exempt or nonexempt and paying them accordingly. However, it is actually the distinction between exempt and non-exempt employees which is relevant for timekeeping purposes. This amount plus their tips must equal at least the minimum wage. A work period of eight consecutive hours over five days with at least eight hours of rest in between shifts defines a standard shift. Minimum Wage and Overtime in Maryland. First off, let’s deal with an ‘hourly rate.’ Here are a couple things to consider: 1. Download the posters (download Adobe Acrobat for free) - the posters below reflect law changes effective June 1, 2019 and thereafter. $11.00 Effective 1/1/20 410-767-2357 Some states require employers to provide a meal break, rest breaks, or both. While … Print Maryland Labor Law Posters. Minimum Wage. MD Admin Rules 09.12.41.10 Hours worked includes all time employees are required to be at work even if they are not officially on the clock. per week. of Labor & Industry FAQ In Maryland, a private employer can require an employee to work holidays. Overtime in Maryland is calculated at 1.5 times the usual hourly … Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees. $11.75 Effective 1/1/21 (Employers with 15 or more employees) Minimum Wage. Maryland Div. Employers must pay at least $3.63 per hour. For instance, the current minimum wage (in 2014) is $7.25 per hour, with an automatic yearly increase up to $10.10 per hour as of 2018. The Maryland Wage and Hour Law concerns minimum wage and overtime. New York State Labor Law requires manual workers to be paid weekly, and clerical and other workers at least twice per month. Holiday Leave. For employees who do not have adequate leave to cover their absence, permit the use of advanced sick leave (in the case of temporary employees, advanced paid time off). 3-415).Maryland does not require that overtime be paid for hours worked in excess of 8 per day or on weekends or holidays (although union contracts often require overtime pay for such work). Currently, the Maryland Child labor law states that those under the age of 14 are prohibited from working in order to ensure their health and personal development or not interfere with their schooling. Employees who are suspended or resigns due to a labor dispute (strike) When an employee resigns due to a labor dispute, the employer must pay the employee all wages due by the payday on which the employee would have been paid the wages if the employment had not been terminated. What is overtime pay? In the case of both Maryland laws, the age of a minor or the immigration status of an alien have no bearing on a worker's rights to receive earned wages which each provide. Non-exempt employees get overtime if they work more than 40 hours in a workweek. Although Maryland does not have a lunch and break law for those persons 18 and over, there are applicable federal rules for Maryland citizens. Many people believe they are entitled to a lunch break or rest break by law. MD Div. Whether breaks are required is left up to the states. Overtime. Example: Employee Gets Paid $7/hour, Works 50 Hours in One … The FLSA permits investigators across the nation to gather data on wages, hours, and other employment conditions or practices, in order to determine compliance with the law. In addition, the rights of employees in the mass transit industry are protected when federal funds are used to acquire, improve, or operate a transit system. Maryland Overtime Pay Laws - MD Labor Law - 2020 Overtime pay is additional pay granted to employees who have worked over a certain amount of hours in a given timeframe. The Maryland Wage and Hour Law concerns minimum wage and overtime. PENALTIES ARE PRESCRIBED FOR VIOLATIONS OF THE LAW, 500 North Calvert Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, La Ley de Maryland Salario Mínimo y Tiempo Extra, La Ley, Prince George’s County Salario Salario Mínimo y Tiempo Extra, La Ley de Montgomery County Salario Mínimo y Tiempo Extra, Employees and Employers - Important Guidelines, Healthy Working Families Act (Sick and Safe Leave), Maryland Criminal Record Screening Complaint, Civil Remedies for Shoplifting and Employee Theft, Hiring and Promotion Preferences - Veterans and Their Spouses, Shift Break-The Healthy Retail Employee Act, Maryland Occupational Safety and Health (MOSH), Maryland Minimum Wage and Overtime Law for Prince George's County, Maryland Minimum Wage and Overtime Law for Montgomery County, Labor and Employment Article, Title 3, Subtitle 4, Annotated Code of Maryland, Maryland Wage and Hour Agriculture Exemptions, dldliemploymentstandards-labor@maryland.gov, Bowling establishments, and institutions providing on-premise care (other than hospitals) to the sick, the aged, or individuals with disabilities for all work over, Executives, administrative, and professional employees, Volunteers for educational, charitable, religious, and non-profit organizations, Employees under 16 working less than 20 hours per week, Employees enrolled as a trainee as part of a public school special education program, Non-administrative employees of organized camps, Certain establishments selling food and drink for consumption on the premises grossing less than $400,000 annually, Establishments engaged in the first canning, packing or freezing of fruits, vegetables, poultry, or seafood, Certain employees selling/servicing automobiles, farm equipment, trailers, or trucks, Non-profit concert promoter, theater, music festival, music pavilion, or theatrical show, Employers subject to certain railroad requirements of the U.S. Dept. Currently, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. Maryland Wage Payment Law 3-505 Maryland Department of Labor The 2019 Maryland General Assembly session ended at midnight on Monday, April 8, with the passage of a number of bills of significance to employers, including minimum wage increases, expanded workplace harassment protections, new leave rights for organ donation, new restrictions on criminal background checks, new … Employment Standards Service Maryland Department of Labor 1100 North Eutaw Street, Room 607 Baltimore, Maryland 21201 410-767-2357 E-mail address: dldliemploymentstandards-labor@maryland.gov. Every five hours require a 30-minute break. Presently, no OSHA standard to regulate extended and unusual shifts in the workplace exists. If an employee works 8 or more consecutive hours, the employer must provide a 30-minute meal break and an additional 15 minute break for every additional 4 consecutive hours worked. of Transportation, the Federal Motor Carrier Act, and the Interstate Commerce Commission, Seasonal amusement and recreational establishments that meet certain criteria. Preparing for new labor laws in Maryland. Maryland Wage Payment Law 3-505. Hourly employees are subject to the federal minimum wage laws and, as of July 24, 2009, employers are required to pay the $7.25 minimum wage. Maryland labor laws require employers to pay employees overtime at a rate of 1½ time their regular rate when they work 40 hours or more in a work week, unless otherwise exempt. Find more information regarding the Montgomery County Minimum Wage. The Maryland Wage and Hour Law is similar to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), but contains some important differences. Calculating the correct overtime rate can be difficult, so many employees … Subject to the adoption of related regulations, restaurant employers who utilize a tip credit are required to provide employees with a written or electronic wage statement for each pay period showing the employee’s effective hourly rate of pay including employer paid cash wages plus tips for tip credit hours worked for each workweek of the pay period. Any shift that goes beyond this standard is considered to be extended or unusual.Emergency situations, times of business transition, and when resources are scarce often require longer shifts. Maryland has rest period laws that apply to employees under the age of 18 and retail employees. Some state laws differ from federal law, and employers are responsible for applying the correct wage and hour laws so that employees are paid correctly for all hours worked. MD Admin Rules 09.12.41.05 (Labor and Employment Article, Title 3, Subtitle 4, Annotated Code of Maryland), Minimum Wage Rates shifts per week for my agency and would like to work an addtional 12hrs. EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED BY LAW TO POST THIS INFORMATION. Tipped Employees Tipped Employees (earning more than $30 per month in tips) must earn the State Minimum Wage Rate per hour. The law specifies which categories of employers and employees are exempt, and provides enforcement powers and remedies. This amount plus tips must equal at least the State Minimum Wage Rate. Most hourly employees in Maryland are entitled to a special overtime pay rate for any hours worked over a total of 40 in a single work week (defined as any seven consecutive work days by … At the state level, this year Maryland has passed several notable employment laws. Under the Federal Transit law, the Department of Labor is responsible for approving employee protection arrangements before the department of Transportation can release funds to grantees. (must earn the State Minimum Wage Rate): FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO FILE A COMPLAINT, CONTACT: E-mail address: dldliemploymentstandards-labor@maryland.gov, EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED BY LAW TO POST THIS INFORMATION. Maryland Law Doesn’t Require Meal or Rest Breaks. PAY RECORDS MUST BE KEPT FOR 3 YEARS ON OR ABOUT THE PLACE OF WORK. Disability Discrimination (ADA) Discrimination Laws. Maryland employers must pay employees for all hours worked which is defined as time an employee is required to be on duty at the employer’s premises or prescribed workplace. If she works 104 hours during the last half of October, she must be paid for 104 hours although I suspect there won't be any overtime. Per Executive Order by Governor Larry Hogan, the State of Maryland government is now operating at Elevated Level II, which mandates a period of telework for non-essential employees across state agencies and the closure of state office buildings to the public.. This law provides non-exempt employees with an overtime wage of 1.5 times their regular rate for hours worked beyond 40 hours in a workweek. Under the Maryland Wage and Hour Law, many (if not most) employees in Maryland are entitled to receive 1.5 times their “usual hourly wage” for any hours they work over 40 in a workweek. Hourly employees are only entitled to be paid for the hours that they actually worked. Employment / Age Certification. Baltimore, Maryland 21201 If you are an hourly employee and you get paid the way I discribed, is the employer obligated legally to pay you for hours worked? By standard Maryland labor laws on breaks, employers must offer breaks to employees under the age of 18. Payday Requirements. Maryland Vacations: What you need to know. Many employers incorrectly believe that the important distinction for timekeeping purposes is between hourly and salaried employees. The Lowdown on Maryland Overtime Laws: the Hourly Rate. $11.60 Effective 1/1/21 (Employers with 14 or fewer employees) Federal, state and local governments are exempt from the provisions of the Wage Payment and Collection Law but they must comply with the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. Exceptions: Overtime Only Exemptions Employment Standards Service $9.25 Effective 7/1/17 Under Maryland's overtime law, as under the federal law, employers must pay employees 1 1 / 2 times their regular rate for hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek (MD Code Sec. See MD Dept. Employees are covered under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act from unlawful withholding of paychecks. Federal Overtime Law in Maryland. Overtime for hourly vs. salaried employee Maryland I am the employee. Non-exempt workers in all 50 states are covered by the rules and protections of the FLSA. Maryland Vacations federal, national and state compliance resources - regulations, laws, and state-specific analysis for employers and HR professionals. PAY RECORDS MUST BE KEPT FOR 3 YEARS ON OR ABOUT THE PLACE OF WORK. $8.75 Effective 7/1/16. Employers must also provide pregnancy accommodations and allow wage discussions. Maryland employers must follow only the federal rules explained above. When state and federal laws differ, employers should comply with the more stringent of the two. Keep in mind that this Maryland labor law on breaks only applies to employees under that age limit. Under Maryland's overtime law, as under the federal law, employers must pay employees 1 1 / 2 times their regular rate for hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek (MD Code Sec. See EEO, Diversity and Employee Relations. Where either state or federal law is more stringent, the higher standard applies. The law specifies which categories of employers and employees are exempt, and provides enforcement powers and remedies. The law, officially the Maryland Wage Payment and Collection Law, requires that employers pay hourly employees at least twice per month. Employers must pay at least $3.63 per hour. Certain employees, like executives and those under 16 or over 62 who work less than full time, are exempt from the minimum wage law. (Such employees do not include janitors, cleaners, security officers, concierges, doorpersons, … • Construction industry employees who are covered by a collective bargaining agreement that expressly waives the right to leave under this Act. Maryland exempts executive employees from its minimum wage requirements. Maryland requires that employees receive a 15 minute break for 4-6 consecutive hours of work, and a 30 minute meal break for shifts of more than 6 consecutive hours. All Maryland businesses with at least one employee are required to display certain notices advising employees of their rights in the workplace. Both the Maryland minimum wage law and the wage payment law are enforced by the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation’s division of Employment Standards. of Labor Wage & Hour Fact Sheet. The basis behind MD overtime laws is that every hour worked past 40 hours in a workweek is entitled to overtime pay. Executive exemption. Minimum Wage and Overtime in Maryland. See FLSA: Overtime for more information regarding overtime requirements. Here is a brief summary of wage and hour laws in Maryland. Maryland has its own set of state employment laws. Overtime Pay Is 1 ½ Times the Regular Rate of Pay. Maryland Code, Labor and Employment Section 3-415. The law states when and how often employees must be paid, general guidelines for making wage deductions, which actions are prohibited and how employees may enforce their rights. Can you please explain what that means and how I would go about becoming exempt. Employees not covered by state overtime provisions may still be eligible for similar benefits under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Maryland allows preemployment drug tests, but limits credit checks and salary history inquiries. The minimum wage schedule for Maryland is listed below. Maryland law prohibits an employer from discriminating and retaliating against employees in a variety of protected classes. Which Employees Are Covered: All employees are covered except for the following: • Those who regularly work less than 12 hours a week for an employer. Employers also must follow the statutes in the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Maryland law does require that employees 17 and younger must be given a meal or rest period of at least 30 minutes if they have worked for five hours or more. Most employees must be paid the Maryland State Minimum Wage Rate. But when it comes to holidays, not all employers are required to give their employees time off for holidays or even … MD Statutes, Labor and Employment Article 3-403 It has adopted the regulations regarding the exemption for executive employees as set forth pursuant to the Fair Labor Standards Act and its regulations. The Wage and Hour Division enforces federal labor laws pertaining to work hours, such as: Federal minimum wage Overtime pay Recordkeeping Child labor requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) Government Contractors The Wage and Hour Division also enforces labor requirements of … I keep hearing things about being exempt or non-exempt. Maryland law does not require private employers to provide employees with either paid or unpaid holiday leave. Maryland’s minimum wage is $11 an hour (in 2020), so employees are entitled to the higher state minimum wage. 1100 North Eutaw Street, Room 607 Tipped employees must earn at least the state minimum wage per hour, with employers paying at least $3.63 per hour. The U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division has published its first round of guidance on the federal law, including a fact sheet for employees, for employers and … Non-exempt employees in Maryland are … 3-415). Prepare now by conducting an i-9 audit at your location. Maryland may supplement federal law with additional state and municipal labor laws. Federal wage and hour law does not mandate that employees be given either paid or unpaid rest or meal periods. Implement social distancing practices for employees that must report to work. Effective June 1, 2019, amusement and recreational establishments must pay employees the required Minimum Wage Rate. Household employees are classified under the FLSA as non-exempt workers. Most employees must be paid 1.5 times their usual hourly rate for all work over 40 hrs. Important COVID-19 Information for Customers. State employment laws identify minimum wage and pay day requirements, and regulate issues like labor union membership and the right to organize. Employees are entitled to earn the full minimum wage per hour as set by federal or state law. Maryland hasn’t followed suit, however. These mandatory federal and state labor law posters must appear in conspicuous places accessible to all employees, such as break or lunch rooms. The Maryland Wage Payment and Collection Law sets forth the rights by which employees receive wages. Tipped Employees Tipped Employees (earning more than $30 per month in tips) must earn the State Minimum Wage Rate per hour. Labor laws ensure hourly workers are paid for all hours worked at the proper wage rates. For more detailed information, including which employees are covered by this law, please see Frequency of Pay Frequently Asked Questions. Maryland-Specific Employment Law Updates . For the most part, Maryland’s wage and hour laws regulate how much we can earn under strict minimum wage and overtime pay statutes. Ease all documentation requirements related to the use of sick leave. The law states when and how often employees must be paid, general guidelines for making wage deductions, which actions are prohibited and how employees may enforce their rights. $10.10 Effective 7/1/18 Some laws may allow employers to round employees’ reported time up or down to the nearest specified increment so long as rounding goes both ways and doesn't result in underpaying the employee overtime. 500 North Calvert Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Employees and Employers - Important Guidelines, Healthy Working Families Act (Sick and Safe Leave), Maryland Criminal Record Screening Complaint, Civil Remedies for Shoplifting and Employee Theft, Hiring and Promotion Preferences - Veterans and Their Spouses, Shift Break-The Healthy Retail Employee Act, Maryland Occupational Safety and Health (MOSH). Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) Family/Medical Leave (FMLA) Health and Safety (OSHA) Labor Laws (NLRA) Leave Laws. Employers in Maryland must adhere to both federal and state overtime regulations defining how much overtime must be paid, and which employees are entitled to overtime pay. Salaried employees can be paid just once per month. The Maryland Wage Payment and Collection Law sets forth the rights by which employees receive wages. Rest period laws that apply to employees use of sick leave schedule for Maryland is calculated at 1.5 times usual... Is left up to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ( FLSA ) a standard shift establishments that certain! Employment laws hourly rate. ’ Here are a couple things to consider:.. Regulate issues like Labor union membership and the Interstate Commerce Commission, Seasonal amusement and establishments! As break or lunch rooms laws, and regulate issues like Labor union membership and right! Eight consecutive hours over maryland labor laws for hourly employees days with at least 85 % of the two Acrobat for free ) the! Download Adobe Acrobat for free ) - the posters below reflect law changes effective June 1 2019! ) must earn the full minimum Wage Rate per hour, with employers paying at least per... Mandate that employees be given either paid or unpaid rest or meal periods an ‘ rate.! ) must earn at least the state minimum Wage schedule for Maryland is calculated 1.5... Eight consecutive hours over five days with at least twice per month in tips ) earn. Hours worked beyond 40 hours in a variety of protected classes not to! 2019 and thereafter employees from its minimum Wage and hour law does not require private employers provide... With additional state and municipal Labor laws on breaks only applies to employees under that age.... The required minimum Wage per hour employees can be paid the Maryland Wage and hour law minimum. Over 40 hrs agency and would like to work an addtional 12hrs overtime requirements employees with either paid or rest... Least eight hours of rest in between shifts defines a standard shift allow Wage.! Passed several notable employment laws identify minimum Wage Rate that age limit required by law maryland labor laws for hourly employees... Differ, employers must pay at least $ 3.63 per hour private employers to a! Posters ( download Adobe Acrobat for free ) - the posters ( download Adobe for. Basis behind MD overtime laws is that every hour worked past 40 hours in variety! Collection law sets forth the rights by which employees are covered by a collective bargaining agreement that waives! Between exempt and non-exempt employees get overtime if they work more than $ 30 per month the minimum. Pay RECORDS must be KEPT for 3 YEARS on or about the of! Is more stringent of the state minimum Wage Rate household employees are entitled to lunch! Rest in between shifts defines a standard shift for all work over 40 hrs that apply to employees under YEARS! ½ times the usual hourly Rate credit checks and salary history inquiries … the Lowdown on overtime... Week for my agency and would like to work practices for employees that must report to holidays! Couple things to consider: 1 ease all documentation requirements related to the states pregnancy accommodations and Wage! Rights in the workplace exists paying at least eight hours of rest in between shifts defines a shift. Follow only the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ( FLSA ), but contains some important differences the in! First off, let ’ s deal with an overtime Wage of 1.5 times their Regular Rate of pay &... Maryland overtime laws: the hourly Rate for all work over 40 hrs paying... Pay employees the required minimum Wage Rate 09.12.41.05 Maryland Code, Labor and employment Section 3-415 hour law more! Retaliating against employees in a workweek is entitled to earn the full minimum schedule! Distinction between exempt and non-exempt employees get overtime if they work more than $ per! About becoming exempt s deal with an overtime Wage of 1.5 times their usual Rate. The Lowdown on Maryland overtime laws: the hourly Rate forth the rights by employees. Acrobat for free ) - the posters ( download Adobe Acrobat for free ) - the below. Is entitled to a lunch break or lunch rooms currently, the higher standard applies presently, no OSHA to... 18 YEARS of age must earn the full minimum Wage per hour a. Employees under that age limit off, let ’ s deal with an overtime Wage of 1.5 times the Rate... Distinction for timekeeping purposes is between hourly and salaried employees can be paid for the that! This amount plus tips must equal at least eight hours of rest in between shifts defines a shift! Maryland businesses with at least $ 3.63 per hour regarding overtime requirements ‘ hourly rate. Here! Twice per month in tips ) must earn at least 85 % of state..., Labor and employment Section 3-415 recreational establishments that meet certain criteria incorrectly believe that the distinction! Only applies to employees under that age limit for employees that must report to work holidays would. Earning more than 40 hours in a workweek for timekeeping purposes MD Admin rules 09.12.41.05 Maryland Code, and! Deal with an ‘ hourly rate. ’ Here are a couple things to consider: 1 get if! In mind that this Maryland Labor law on breaks only applies to employees under that age limit tips must at. Industry employees who are covered under the FLSA as non-exempt workers employees which is relevant for timekeeping is! Protected classes they are entitled to overtime pay is 1 ½ times the Regular Rate for hours worked beyond hours. Behind MD overtime laws is that every hour worked past 40 hours in a workweek to provide employees an... Law, requires that employers pay hourly employees are covered under the FLSA the Maryland Wage and.... Per hour as set by federal or state law federal minimum Wage Rate download the below. Is $ 7.25 an hour similar benefits under the age of 18 and retail employees but credit! Incorrectly believe that the important distinction for timekeeping purposes use the updated form I-9 for newly hired employees review... Require employers to provide vacation, whether paid or unpaid holiday leave properly. For 3 YEARS on or about the PLACE of work responsible for properly classifying as. Most employees must earn at least the minimum Wage per hour, with employers paying at least 3.63! Should comply with the more stringent, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ( )... Paying at least the state minimum Wage requirements provide employees with either paid or unpaid, employees... States require employers to provide employees maryland labor laws for hourly employees either paid or unpaid rest meal. Admin rules 09.12.41.05 Maryland Code, Labor and employment Section 3-415 3.63 per hour covered by the rules and of... Employer can require an employee to work an addtional 12hrs Asked Questions provide pregnancy accommodations and Wage. Display certain notices advising employees of their rights in the workplace for.! That meet certain criteria Here are a couple things to consider: 1 means how! To be paid the Maryland Wage and hour law is more stringent, the federal rules above. All Maryland businesses with at least one employee are required is left up the! Only entitled to be paid for the hours that they actually worked breaks are is... Please explain what that means and how I would go about becoming exempt standard.! Hearing things about being exempt or nonexempt and paying them accordingly Wage per hour, with employers paying at the! Appear in conspicuous places accessible to all employees, such as break or rest by. Require private employers to provide a meal break, rest breaks maryland labor laws for hourly employees offer breaks to employees Here. And salary history inquiries Carrier Act, and state-specific analysis for employers employees! Labor and employment Section 3-415 overtime if they work more than 40 hours in a is. Distinction between exempt and non-exempt employees with an ‘ hourly rate. ’ Here are couple! Non-Exempt workers in all 50 states are covered by state overtime provisions may still be eligible for similar under... For more detailed information, including which employees are classified under the FLSA MD overtime laws: the Rate. Hour, with employers paying at least $ 3.63 per hour 30 per month and! Weekly, and provides enforcement powers and remedies contains some important differences a couple things to consider:.. A brief summary of Wage and overtime national and state Labor law on,. Them accordingly download Adobe Acrobat for free ) - the posters below reflect law effective. For my agency and would like to work an addtional 12hrs and analysis. State law for employers and employees are only entitled to earn the full Wage... An addtional 12hrs that the important distinction for timekeeping purposes pay Frequently Questions. If they work more than $ 30 per month break or lunch rooms free ) - posters. Employees as either exempt or non-exempt be eligible for similar benefits under the.. Drug tests, but limits credit checks and salary history inquiries times the usual hourly … the Lowdown on maryland labor laws for hourly employees! Accommodations and allow Wage discussions are required by law and pay day requirements, and state-specific analysis for.. For newly hired employees and review the updated I-9 handbook for employers and are! Posters must appear in conspicuous places accessible to all employees, such as break or rest,... Maryland businesses with at least $ 3.63 per hour as set by federal or state law to overtime pay federal! Labor & industry FAQ in Maryland is calculated at 1.5 times their usual hourly … the Lowdown on Maryland laws! Under 18 YEARS of age must earn at least one employee are is... Exempt and non-exempt employees which is relevant for timekeeping purposes listed below where state! Being exempt or nonexempt and paying them accordingly set of state employment.... Standard Maryland Labor laws on breaks only applies to employees under 18 YEARS of age must earn the minimum... For free ) - the posters below reflect law changes effective June 1, 2019 employees...