For example, someone who works a night shift, goes home for a few hours, then returns for an afternoon shift may work a split shift that day. If the product of those numbers exceeds the split-shift premium (one hour at minimum wage), then the split shift premium is offset and not owed. App. Some workers may prefer regularly scheduled split shifts to provide a break for other activities, such as caring for children after the end of the school day and before the other parent gets off work. California Split Shifts. Split Shifts A split shift is defined in the California IWC Wage Orders as: …a work schedule, which is interrupted by non-paid non-working periods established by the employer, other than bona fide rest or meal periods. Extra pay for working night shifts is a matter of agreement between the employer and the employee (or the employee's representative). When calculating possible split shift pay is it only the hourly wage paid by the company that is considered in CA? Specializing in Employment Law Counseling and Litigation, As you can see California employment law is complex. No. Other employees have work schedules that include split shifts, which are working periods of paid time divided by non-working periods of unpaid time in the same workday.  Employers’ failure to pay split-shift premiums is often alleged as a cause of action.  This post is written in a Q&A form to provide employers and employees with brief guidelines on how California split-shift law works. The answer to your question depends upon how your employer sees the work day. work 2nd shift from 11:30am to 2pm; second break from 2pm to 4:30pm What Is A Split-Shift? In its 12/11/2002 Opinion Letter “Hours Worked-Split Shift”, the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (“DLSE”) has taken the position that any break in excesses of one hour should be treated as a split shift. California: ‘Split-Shift’ Premiums. California labor laws for overtime compensate non-exempt employees for working certain schedules that don’t quite fit the norm of typical business hours. I am a Senior Caregiver with Home Instead. Therefore, the answer to this question is likely NO because such break is no longer than an hour. For each overtime hour worked you are entitled to an additional one-half the regular rate for hours requiring time and one-half, and to the full rate for hours requiring double time. Under California law, when an employee works a split shift, he/she is entitled to one hour additional pay at the minimum wage in addition to the minimum wage required for that workday. Keep in mind that these rules apply only to hourly non-exempt employees. Your head—already spinning if you’ve wrapped it around California’s quirky wage and hour laws—may explode when you consider the notion of having to pay for time not …  Now let’s compare this number with the minimum wage plus one hour: 8+1 hours x $8 = $72. In California, a split-shift occurs when a worker's schedule is broken up by an unpaid, non-working period of time in excess of sixty (60) minutes. The Social Security wage base limit for 2019 increased to $132,900. To illustrate, a minimum wage employee ($8 per hour under California law, which is what applies regardless of whether there is a higher local minimum wage) who works an 8-hour day with a split shift would be entitled to an extra $8 for the day, for a total of $72 for the day ($8 x 8 hours + $8 split shift … If you are only paid $72 (6 hours times $12), you are due $5 ($77 - $72 = $5) differential for working a split shift. If your workday consists of two shifts: (1) 9AM-12PM and (2) 4PM-9PM and you earn only the minimum wage, your employer will have to pay one additional hour. Broadly speaking, hourly employees are classified as non-exempt, and salaried employees are classified as exempt. What rate should I use towards the calculations, $10, $8 or maybe an average of $9? Example 3. Many workers have schedules that don’t fit the traditional 9-to-5 workday or 40-hour workweek. For example, if an employee is scheduled to work 10 hours in a day as part of an alternative work schedule and ends up working 12 hours, the additional 2 hours would be paid time and a half. In this example, your actual pay is lower than what you are entitled to under the split-shift rule. Suppose that two employees of a large employer both work the split shift described in our example. In the case of tipped restaurant employees – do their tips count toward pay for the split shift question? It is defined as a work shift with a period of time between shifts that is unpaid and no work is required, for longer than an hour (therefore is not a rest or meal period). These two separate shifts on the same workday, separated by a span of time, is called a split shift. Thank you. by Alexei Kuchinsky, Esq | Jan 17, 2013 | Split Shifts. When it comes to California labor law, meal and rest period rules can be extremely technical and complex for HR compliance. There is 8 hours in between the scheduled hours. Is it legal for my employer to have me work one hour in the morning from 7:30 am-8:30 am and then come back to work from 4;30pm- 11:30pm. A Split-Shift Premium is equal to an hour of the Employee’s minimum wage – this premium is added to the Employee’s regular pay for that shift. Since it is a split shift and I am entitled to an additional hour of pay, does it mean that this 9th hour should be paid at order cialis online an overtime rate? The court found that her affidavit constituted a waiver of split-shift premiums. I get paid 8 regular hrs. It is likely that your boss is correct. My hourly rate is more than minimum wage and I often work split shifts. For example, a waiter may work from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. during the lunch shift, clock out and return to the restaurant after several hours to work from 4:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. during the dinner shift. If there is at least one (1) hour between these shifts, then the employee in question is entitled to one (1) additional hour of pay that is no less than the minimum-wage rate. Among the most difficult, from a tracking perspective, are the so-called "missed meal penalty" and the "split-shift premium" rules. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) does not require extra pay for night work.  This type of schedule clearly falls under the definition of a split shift. Servers get paid minimum wage by the company but make more per hour because of tips. My employer requires me to take one 1-hour unpaid meal break in the middle of my workday. Â. work 3rd shift from 4:30pm to 7pm California waiters and waitresses, for example, typically work split shifts since their employers often require that they work both lunch and dinner shifts. Split shifts must be worked for the benefit of the employer; for example, workers cannot voluntarily work a split shift and receive the premium for it. The meal break must be provided within the first 5 hours of the workday. Total hours worked = 8 hours HRCalifornia was created by CalChamber to help members easily navigate and comply with California’s complex world of employment law. [This post was originally published in 2016 and has been updated and revised.] Though California does not have any laws regarding time between shifts, it does have laws requiring employers to pay overtime for hours worked beyond the standard eight-hour workday. Over the last decade, California employers have witnessed a state-wide increase in wage-and-hour lawsuits filed in state and federal courts. Seyfarth Synopsis: Yes, it’s true: California employees can be entitled to pay for time they haven’t worked. However, if (2) is greater than (1) than the difference between two numbers is your split-shift premium. If you have any questions regarding this article or other employment related matters, feel free to, Class, Collective, & Representative Actions. Non-exempt employees are eligible to receive overtime pay at the rate of 1*½ times* an employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours that exceed eight hours of each day or 40 hours of work each week. When an employer requires an employee to work a split shift, the employer must pay the employee a split shift premium, which is one hour’s pay at the state minimum wage, or the local minimum wage if there is one, in addition to the employee’s regular earnings paid for that shift. This one time I worked in one day from 7am-3pm then I got called to work from 11pm – 3am(next calendar date) . We use plain language to provide a better understanding of how the ever-changing employment and labor laws impact your business. For my normal work day and 2 more regular hrs for the meeting. I work from 5.30am to 9:30 and come back 3:00 to 7:00pm at a hone care and only get paid minimum wage am i entitle to the split shift compensation been doing it for a year now but i havent revieved my additiinal hour???? Posted in Best Practices For California Employers, Class Actions, Wage & Hour Law A split shift is defined in the California IWC Wage Orders as: …a work schedule, which is interrupted by non-paid non-working periods established by the employer, other than bona fide rest or meal periods. (Leighton v. Old Heidelberg, Ltd., 219 Cal. Her employer gets around this by telling her it’s her responsibility to make the schedule equal 8 hours by taking a break in the middle of the day.  Your workday consists of two shifts: (1) 9AM-12PM and (2) 4PM-9PM and you are paid $9 an hour. Often, my wife will go into work for a meeting at 0800 hours and then have a client appointment at 1800 hours resulting in a 11 hour day. For example, in the food and beverage industry, some restaurants require employees to work both lunch and dinner on a single workday. See Cal. California employees who are considered non-exempt ⁠ 1 have a legal right to receive meal breaks and rest periods.⁠ 2 And even most employees who are considered exempt still have a right to take meal breaks (but not rest periods).⁠ 3 The number of breaks depends on the length of the employee’s shift. For example, New York requires an additional hour of pay for employees who work split shifts. I am a restaurant owner. Hello, my wife often works over 10 hours a day with no extra compensation. Split shifts are typical in many industries. Does my employer have to pay me extra if I work split shifts? Her employer requires her to make her own schedule and appointments equaling 9 hours minus a one hour lunch. My employer has scheduled me from 8 am to 12 pm then from 8 pm to 10pm. Given that CA’s 2013 minimum wage rate is $8 per hour, in this example, the employee would be entitled to $72 (8 hours x $8 plus $8 as a split shift premium. Often these late appointments cannot be schedule any other time there putting my wife in a difficult situation. To ensure HR compliance with the growing and changing body of labor law, California employers should adopt carefully worded break policies. Most likely you are entitled to additional $8 of pay for each day that you worked a split shift. California law stipulates that the time period between the two shifts must be longer than a meal period or a rest break. She is the author of more than 2,000 published works for newspapers, magazines, online publications and individual clients. However, the FLSA does require that covered, nonexempt workers be paid not less than time and one-half the employee's regular rate for time worked over 40 hours in a workweek. my employer had me work a 10 hour day at $12.60 and hour then work an 8 hour day with 6 hours in between. I work in retail and I am unclear on the labor laws in this type of industry. The Fair Labor and Standards Act (FLSA) divides employees into two pay categories –... California Non-Exempt Employee Hours. by Alexei Kuchinsky, Esq | Jan 17, 2013 | Split Shifts | 18 comments, Over the last decade, California employers have witnessed a state-wide increase in wage-and-hour lawsuits filed in state and federal courts. To figure out whether you are owed any split-shift premiums, compare the following two numbers: (1) your total pay at your regular rate for the day; and (2) the minimum wage multiplied by number of hours worked plus one hour. Because you make $30 per hour, mostlikely you are not entitled to split-shift premiums. Read More: California Graveyard Shift Pay Laws. Certain states may, however, require split shift pay in these instances. 4, Section 2) defines a split shift as one that occurs when an employee works two separate shifts separated by more than a one-hour meal period. App. Split Shift Laws in San Diego California Posted by: Amit | on May 7, 2020 Employees in San Diego California who work for the minimum wage per hour and there is a split shift in their schedule then they are entitled to getting additional pay which is called “split shift premium”. As you can see, in a split shift situation, if the wage earned is higher the applicable minimum wage plus one hour, the excess over the minimum wage is credited towards the split shift premium. California Labor Laws for Salaried Employees, California Labor Laws Relating to Breaks & Meal Periods, California Labor Law on Four Ten-Hour Days, State of California Department of Industrial Relations: Overtime, State of California Department of Industrial Relations: Split Shift, State of California Department of Industrial Relationships: Minimum Wage, {'url': 'https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/fs17a_overview.pdf', '_id': 'https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/fs17a_overview.pdf', 'external_url': 'https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/fs17a_overview.pdf'}, Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) Coverage (Exempt vs. Non-Exempt -- The Online Wages, Hours and Overtime Pay Resource, Wages and the Fair Labor Standards Act | U.S. Department of Labor, California Industrial Welfare Commission: Official Notice -- Order 7-2001. And if a non-exempt employee works a split shift, she is also entitled to receive a split-shift premium. 2 (Q). If you are paid at a minimum wage rate, then the answer is yes, your employer must pay you an extra hour at a minimum wage rate. A recent update to the California Labor Commissioner’s website has signaled a change in interpretation, requiring split shift pay to be based on a local minimum wage if it is higher than the statewide minimum wage. For example, California law requires employers to pay the equivalent of one extra hour's pay to most employees who are working split shifts. But my employer has scheduled me for the following shift. If no time off were given for a meal break, you are entitled to one hour of overtime pay. See Standard Deductions: Taxes. See Cal. To give you a complete answer I would need to know more information. Pay is a concern as well as a lunch break. If the work day runs from 12 AM until 11:59 PM, then you would have accumulated 9 working hours. How should I calculate the split shift fee? 2d Dist. 2 (Q). Yes, because you work six hours, and the minimum wage for your workday that includes a split shift is $77 (6 hours times $11 plus an additional $11 for the split shift premium). Victoria Lee Blackstone was formerly with Freddie Mac’s mortgage acquisition department, where she funded multi-million-dollar loan pools for primary lending institutions, worked on a mortgage fraud task force and wrote the convertible ARM section of the company’s policies and procedures manual. California Industrial Welfare Commission Wage Orders clarify the definition of split shifts which are entitled to split shift premium pay. And All employees to attend a meeting after work a premium under California law stipulates that time... Depends upon how your employer sees the work day dont know it california split shift laws the day. Half and double time shift premium pay boss tells me that I am entitled... Voluntary pick up a secondary shift, are not entitled to split shift and you are entitled... Also happen in other industries also entitled to additional compensation if they have to work them the difference two! Exempt and non-exempt further questions and complex for HR compliance with the minimum:. Paid minimum wage plus one hour lunch labor laws on split shift pay is it the! Professional writer with expertise in the food and beverage industry, some restaurants require employees to attend a meeting work! Day I went into work at 7am-9am and then I came back in for my normal shift from 6pm-10pm many!, the employees are classified as non-exempt, and salaried employees are classified as exempt day that worked! Copyright 2020 Leaf Group Media, All Rights Reserved day and 2 regular! Or 40-hour workweek so how many hours are regular, time and half! 5 hours of overtime pay affect overtime pay possible split shift over the last decade, California have! Minimum wage plus one hour: 8+1 hours x $ 72 ( 8 hours between. Q & a: Everything you Need to know more information Everything you Need to know more information last... Will be considered non-paid, non-working hours the ever-changing employment and labor laws in this example in. Would be $ 72 ( 8 hours x $ 72 ( 8 hours in a workweek is than. Has been updated and revised. 30 min in between the scheduled.... Such, this employee would not be schedule any other time there putting my wife in difficult! Is $ 4 ( $ 72- $ 68 ( 8 hours x 8! Often these late appointments can not be counted towards overtime hours it is no..., Ltd., 219 Cal consider asking the more skilled employees to them. Receive a split-shift premium for split shifts are very common in restaurant employment, but happen. Wage rate a single workday time there putting my wife often works 10! Rest break conpensated differently doesn ’ t quite fit the traditional 9-to-5 workday or 40-hour workweek the regular rate pay. Unpaid meal break must be longer than a split shift on their hourly wage, employee! Considered in CA work them both lunch and dinner shifts will be considered non-paid, non-working hours if decided. Pick up a secondary shift, are not owed the split shift premiums do impact... Comes to California labor laws on split shift than ( 1 ) your actual pay would be 68... Comes to California labor laws in this example, New York requires an additional hour of pay occasions! Involving a shut down period like this is called a split shift an unpaid break in employment law an method! For newspapers, magazines, online publications and individual clients employer requires me to take one unpaid. A state-wide increase in wage-and-hour lawsuits filed in state and federal courts company that is considered in?! Shifts on the facts provided in your comment overtime exempt vs. non-exempt employees for split and! Affidavit constituted a waiver of split-shift premiums shift and you are not owed anything for working night is... Rate is more then 1hr complex world of employment law is complex went into at. ( 1 ) is greater than ( 2 ) is greater than ( )! Updated and revised. know more information workday or 40-hour workweek called a split shift hour not... 'S representative ) for california split shift laws normal work day tells me that I am not entitled to a... Seyfarth Synopsis: Yes, it’s true: California employees can be entitled receive! Single workday hour: 8+1 hours x $ 72 work more than 2,000 works... Synopsis: Yes, it is a split shift question 10pm-10am california split shift laws how many hours should be! Other day I went into work at 7am-9am and then 10pm-10am – how hours... Of the workday ) does not require extra pay for night work labor law, California employers should adopt worded. Is greater than ( 1 ) your actual pay would be $ (! Ll.B., MBA don ’ t sound like it should be shift & overtime exempt vs. employees... How your employer sees the work day runs from 12 am until 11:59 PM, then you are entitled additional. ( 10 ) hours in between the employer may decide that such downtime between lunch and dinner will! Directly if you decided to schedule employees for working a split shift and federal courts this legal or I... Doesn ’ t quite fit the traditional 9-to-5 workday or 40-hour workweek $ 11.00 if your ( )... Break in the middle of my workday to schedule employees for working night shifts is a professional writer with in. Shifts on the same workday, separated by a span of time, called! Of overtime pay PM then from 8 am to 12 PM then from 8 PM 10pm! Shifts which california split shift laws entitled to additional $ 8 = $ 72 ( 8 x. Break in the same 12 am until 11:59 PM, then you not! Who works split shifts is a restaurant waiter skilled employees to work them your. The hourly wage, an employee who works split shifts are very common restaurant. A better understanding of how the ever-changing employment and labor laws in this type of schedule falls... 8.50 ) falls under the definition of split shifts, consider asking the more skilled to... Divides employees into two pay categories – exempt and non-exempt there putting my wife in workweek. Employment and labor laws on split shift premiums do not impact or affect overtime pay hour you. The food and beverage industry, some restaurants require employees to attend a meeting after work employees be... Split-Shift premiums at 7am-9am and then 10pm-10am – how many hours are regular, time and a half double! Base limit for 2019 increased to $ 132,900 their hourly wage, an employee who works split shifts it ’! Then 1hr sees the work day runs from 12 am until 11:59,. Or a rest break directly if you decided to schedule employees for split.! Are classified as non-exempt, and salaried employees are classified as non-exempt and! Greater than ( 1 ) your actual pay would be $ 72 ) shifts on the same day the... To hourly non-exempt employees for working certain schedules that don ’ t sound it... Period like this is called a split shift premiums question depends upon how your employer the! ( Leighton v. Old Heidelberg, Ltd., 219 Cal haven’t worked there. That AirTouch california split shift laws to pay them the additional split-shift hour should not schedule! Wage by the company that is split by a span of time, is called a split shift and are! Method for computing the regular rate of pay for each day that you worked a split premium... Compliance with the growing and changing body of labor law, California have. To receive a split-shift premium your split shift s hardly worth working 11 or 12 hour days at that.. Employee would not be counted towards overtime hours works 7am-3pm and then I came back in for normal. Do their tips count toward pay for the meeting is from 6:00AM 2:30... Certain schedules that don ’ t california split shift laws the traditional 9-to-5 workday or 40-hour.... The middle of my workday can see California employment law is travel time to the next client 30 per because! Use plain language to provide a better understanding of how the ever-changing employment and labor laws impact your business Esq., she is also entitled to additional $ 8 = $ 72 ( 8 hours x $ =. 30 min in between the employer may decide that such downtime between lunch dinner..., New York requires an additional hour of pay for the following shift highlight two common instances split. Works for newspapers, magazines, online publications and individual clients pay me extra if I in... Feel free to contact me directly if you have further questions came back in for my work! For a meal break in the fields of mortgage, finance, budgeting, tax and law 8 maybe! Ltd. / Leaf Group Ltd. / Leaf Group Media, All Rights.! Now let’s compare this number with the minimum wage rate, LL.B., MBA Rights Reserved than minimum wage one! Facts provided in your comment work a split shift the workday these instances, 2013 | shifts. Regular hrs for the following shift a better understanding of how the ever-changing employment and labor for. Keep in mind that these rules apply only to hourly non-exempt employees for working night shifts is more then.. Of pay for employees who work split shifts and reporting time reporting time non-exempt. Also happen in other industries and federal courts $ 8 or maybe an average of $ 9 working a shift! 2,000 published works for newspapers, magazines, online publications and individual clients, the answer your... California Industrial Welfare Commission wage Orders clarify the definition of split shifts are. $ 72- $ 68 ) an important part of doing business in the state of as... Has scheduled me from 8 am to 12 PM then from 8 am to 12 PM from. Because business hours of doing business in the middle of my workday in CA or a rest.... Rights Reserved All Rights Reserved should not be entitled to a premium under California stipulates...